Entrepreneurship. R&D Funding Available from the Federal Small Business Administration


The Small Business Administration (SBA), a unit of the U.S. Department of Commerce, offers two programs to assist entrepreneurs with research & development (R&D) costs.

Small Business Administration Innovation Research Program (SBIR)

SBIR funding is 2.5% of the total extramural research budgets of all federal agencies with extramural research budgets of more than of $100 million. These funds are reserved for research contracts or grants to small businesses. In 2010, that represented over $1 billion in research funds. Over half the awards were to firms with less than 25 people. One-third of the funds went to very small companies indeed, one with fewer than 10 employees. One-fifth of the funds went to minority- or women-owned businesses. One-quarter of the companies in fiscal year 20100 were first-time winners.

Information can be obtained from:
Small Business Innovation Research Program
United States Small Business Administration
Office of Technology
409 Third Street SW
Washington, DC 20416
202-205-6450
www.sba.gov/sbir or sba.gov/index.html
Small Business Technology Transfer Program (STTR)

STTR uses a similar approach to promote partnerships between small businesses and nonprofit U.S. research institutions. Funding currently totals 0.3% of the relevant agencies’ extramural research budgets. In the 2010 fiscal year, this amounted to over $100 Million.

The federal agencies involved are:

Each year, five federal departments and agencies are required by STTR to reserve a portion of their R&D funds for award to small business/nonprofit research institution partnerships.

• Department of Defense
• Department of Energy
• Department of Health and Human Services
• National Aeronautics and Space Administration
• National Science Foundation

Small businesses eligible for STTR must be American-owned and independently operated. The principal researcher need not be employed by small business. (Thus principal researchers can be academic researchers starting a company aimed at commercializing the results of their research). Company size limited to 500 employees

Upon reviewing the proposals, agencies make STTR awards based on small business/nonprofit research institution qualification, degree of innovation, and future market potential. Small businesses that receive awards then begin a three-phase program.

• Phase I is the startup phase. Awards of up to $100,000 for approximately one year fund the exploration of the scientific, technical, and commercial feasibility of an idea or technology.
• Phase II awards of up to $750,000, for as long as two years, expand Phase I results. During this period, the R&D work is performed and the developer begins to consider commercial potential. Only Phase I award winners are considered for Phase II.
• Phase III is the period during which Phase II innovation moves from the laboratory into the marketplace. No STTR funds support this phase. The small business must find funding in the private sector or other non-STTR federal agency funding.

To help small businesses deal with the complexities of working with the federal government, the SBA operates the Small Business Administration Answer Desk at 202-205-6600, extensions 296 and 287.

Other federal programs

Other units of the federal government also have programs to assist small businesses. For example, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Small Business Ombudsman helps small businesses gain access to EPA funds. Ombudsmen may be reached through the EPA at www.epa.gov or by telephone (703-305-7777).

The Minority Business Development Agency is a unit of the U.S. Department of Commerce and collects and disseminates information about starting and operating minority-owned businesses. It may be reached online through www.doc.gov or by telephone at 202-482-4547.

The Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business is another Department of Commerce unit helping small businesses. It may be reached on-line at www.osec.doc.gov/osdbu or by telephone at 202- 482-1472.

The U.S. Department of Energy operates a similar program, the Minority Energy Information Clearinghouse focused on small energy-related businesses owned by members of minority groups. This program may be reached through www.hr.doe.gov/ed or by telephone at 202-586-5876.

The U.S. Department of Defense operates the Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization for DoD. Information is available online at www.acq.osd.mil/sadbu or by telephone at 703- 545-6700.

The Department of Energy also provides information to small businesses through the Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization for DoE. Its website address is www.doe.gov. The office can also be reached by telephone at 202- 586-7377.

NASA operates the Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization for NASA. Information may be obtained online at www.hq.nasa.gov/office/codek and by telephone at 202-358-2088.
The Small Business Administration Development Center Program provides technical assistance and information on management techniques to small businesses at www.sba.gov or by telephone at 202- 205-6600, extensions 275 and 277.

John Borchardt is a chemist and freelance writer who has been an ACS career consultant for 15 years. He is the author of the ACS/Oxford University Press Book “Career Management for Scientists and Engineers.” He has had more than 1200 articles published in a variety of magazines, newspapers and encyclopedias. As an industrial chemist, he holds 30 U.S. and more than 125 international patents and is the author of more than 130 peer-reviewed papers.

28 Responses to Entrepreneurship. R&D Funding Available from the Federal Small Business Administration

  1. […] at 8:00 am and is filed under Uncategorized. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own […]

  2. […] at 8:00 am and is filed under Uncategorized. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own […]

  3. whats up, love your blog about new federal grants for small business

  4. Alethea says:

    Hi are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own.
    Do you require any html coding knowledge to make your own
    blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

  5. I am in fact thankful to the owner of this website who has shared this enormous article at here.|

  6. “Entrepreneurship. R&D Funding Available from the Federal Small Business
    Administration ACS Careers Blog” was indeed quite pleasurable and informative!
    Within the present day world that’s really hard to do.
    Thank you, Marylyn

  7. I personally Think posting, “Entrepreneurship. R&D Funding Available from the Federal Small Business Administration ACS
    Careers Blog” was indeed great! I personallycan’t agree together with u more! At last appears like I personallydiscovered a webpage really worth reading through. Thanks for the post, Ardis

  8. Bipin Sekhon says:

    Just came over to let you know you have a brand new fan!
    Reading one post on your website got me obsessed there and then.

    Really, you are awesome!

  9. Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification appeared to be on
    the web the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you,
    I definitely get irked while people consider worries that they plainly do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect
    , people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thanks

  10. Santo says:

    Nice post. I used to be checking constantly this
    weblog and I am impressed! Very helpful information specifically the ultimate section🙂 I handle such information much.
    I used to be seeking this certain info for
    a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  11. Corinne says:

    Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very helpful info specially the last part🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  12. Awesome! Its genuinely amazing article, I have got much clear idea on the topic of from this paragraph.

  13. Yvette says:

    Good way of explaining, and fastidious piece of writing to get data
    concerning my presentation topic, which i am going to present in school.

  14. Perry says:

    My family all the time say that I am wasting my time here
    at web, except I know I am getting experience everyday by reading such good articles or reviews.

  15. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts in this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web site. Reading this information So i am satisfied to convey that I have an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I so much no doubt will make sure to don?t omit this website and give it a glance on a constant basis.

  16. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and test again here regularly.

    I am rather sure I’ll be told a lot of new stuff proper right here! Good luck for the following!

  17. Opal says:

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this
    website yourself or did you hire someone to do
    it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. appreciate it

  18. Alethea says:

    It is appropriate time to make some plans for
    the longer term and it is time to be happy. I’ve learn this post and if I may I want to suggest you few interesting issues or tips. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I want to read even more issues about it!

  19. health foods says:

    Hi! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look
    forward to new updates.

  20. Myrtis says:

    You created some critical tips there. I did a search around the matter and discovered the
    majority of people will agree with your web log.

  21. Wilfredo says:

    Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the web the easiest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people
    think about worries that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without
    having side-effects , people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.

    Thanks

  22. Obagi says:

    Greetings! Very useful advice within this article!
    It’s the little changes which will make the largest changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

  23. Manuel says:

    I take pleasure in, cause I found just what I was looking for.
    You have ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man.
    Have a nice day. Bye

  24. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

  25. Very shortly this site will be famous amid all blogging
    and site-building people, due to it’s fastidious articles

  26. Hi to all, how is all, I think every one is getting more from this website,
    and your views are pleasant designed for new people.

  27. This design is spectacular! You obviously know how to
    keep a rader entertained. Betwedn your wit and your videos,
    I was almost moved to sttart my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job.
    I really enjoyed what you hhad to say, and more than
    that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  28. Hello there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted
    keywords but I’m not seeing very good gains. If you know of any please share.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

