Why Coworkers May Dislike You


Your behavior in the workplace can make coworkers dislike you. Often you are unaware that what you say or do might annoy other people. Managers often avoid discussing these behaviors with you because they find it uncomfortable. Irritating behaviors can be like a bad habit and bad habits are hard to break. However, the first step in breaking bad habits is to be aware of them. So let’s review some bad workplace habits that result in people potentially disliking you.

You’re condescending

As a manager or highly experienced co-worker, you may come across as patronizing to people reporting to you or your less experienced peers. You don’t mean to be patronizing, rather you are trying to help others do a good job. Your colleagues may feel you are denigrating their efforts. There are few things more upsetting to people than some know-it-all implying you or others are stupid.

Arrogance is unattractive. Before you tell someone the work they did isn’t as good as the way you would have done it, make sure you have context. For instance, don’t just say, “When starting this project you should have discussed Factor X with the customer.” Maybe your coworker did discuss Factor X with the customer. Perhaps the customer did not share vital information with your coworker. Maybe you neglected to share vital information with your coworker. Treat your coworker with respect. Offer up something instead, “Did either you or the customer bring up Factor X?” By spending less than a minute to treat your colleague with respect, you are building a relationship rather than tearing one down. You have created a “teachable moment” that will allow your coworker do his/her job better.

You talk before you listen

Outstanding employees are often guilty of this. Bright, creative, passionate people are often brimming with great ideas they can’t wait to share. They talk over the people around them – people who often have some great ideas of their own. By doing so, people may become angry with you as the tactic is counterproductive.

I admit it; I have this bad habit and struggle to control it. I never had this problem until I finished my post-doc and entered the workplace. I became aware of this during employment interviews. I was so eager to impress interviewers that sometimes I would interrupt them before they even finished asking their question.

Everyone’s perspective has value in the workplace. You have to give coworkers and customers a chance to express their perspective on workplace problems and issues. If you don’t give others a chance to express their views or be creative, they won’t want to work with you. Coworkers won’t want to collaborate with you; they’ll want to throw you out the window. Ironically you are less likely to get your ideas accepted if you don’t listen to theirs.

You set coworkers up to fail

You can do this by setting deadlines and standards that are impossible to meet. Another way that managers do this is by not giving coworkers resources they need to do the job. Often as a colleague or supervisor, you may have to make commitments in other people’s names which they must live up to. For example, a team leader or sales representative who accepts a goal or deadline that is impossible for you or your team to meet. There is no excuse for doing this unless you know your coworkers have the resources to meet these requirements.

Customers and managers need to understand the implications of decisions. For example, resources are limited. So accepting a project completion deadline may require diverting resources to this project and accepting delays on completing other projects.

Wasting coworkers’ time

According to the Harvard Business Review, the most important way to keep employees motivated is to create an ongoing sense of progress. Conversely, a sense of minimal progress can be very demotivating. Imagine you work hard on a project and it turns out that all your hard work was a complete waste of time because one of your coworkers or boss did not do their job well by being irresponsible, careless or lazy. You’re going to dislike that individual.

The flip side of the coin is that you have to have your coworkers’ back. This may require you to take some risks. For example, once I developed a new product at a time when my employer sorely needed a new revenue stream. However, my supervisor refused to take the steps needed to manufacture field test quantities of the product and take it to customers for testing. Instead he repeatedly requested additional laboratory testing. However, field engineers had seen my laboratory results in company reports and began complaining to their managers that they couldn’t get the chemical for their customers. Finally they complained to a company division Vice-President. He approved the product was approved for manufacture and released it to the field for a highly successful series of field tests that resulted in a new product when additional sales were sorely needed.

You don’t say please or thank you

People have a sense of dignity and self-worth and want to have this recognized by their managers, coworkers, and customers. Treating coworkers with respect and being polite can go a long way to make people feel respected. The word “please” is one of the strongest words in the business world. Common courtesy also includes explaining why some work results are needed as soon as possible. This often will persuade coworkers and suppliers to provide the information you need on a timely basis. You need to be particularly diplomatic when trying to get customers to share test results.

John Borchardt was a chemist, freelance writer and devoted ACS career consultant for over 15 years, until his sudden passing in January 2013. He was the author of the ACS/Oxford University Press Book “Career Management for Scientists and Engineers,” and had more than 1500 articles published in a variety of magazines, newspapers and encyclopedias. As an industrial chemist, he held 30 U.S. and more than 125 international patents, and was the author of more than 130 peer-reviewed papers. John’s advice, insights and articles helped hundreds of scientists improve their professional lives, and he will be truly missed.

44 Responses to Why Coworkers May Dislike You

  1. Admiring the commitment you put into your website and detailed information you present.
    It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same
    out of date rehashed information. Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  2. What i don’t understood is in reality how you are no longer actually much more smartly-favored than you might be now. You are so intelligent. You already know thus significantly when it comes to this topic, made me in my view imagine it from a lot of various angles. Its like men and women don’t seem to be involved unless it’s one thing to do with Woman gaga! Your individual stuffs nice. At all times maintain it up!

  3. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your weblog. You have some really great articles and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to
    mine. Please blast me an e-mail if interested. Many thanks!

  4. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this article and
    the rest of the website is really good.

  5. percobaan says:

    Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for
    a blog site? The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear idea

  6. Asking questions are really good thing if you are not understanding something fully, however this article provides good understanding even.

  7. hobby shop says:

    Greate pieces. Keep posting such kind of info on your page.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hey there, You’ve performed a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg
    it and for my part suggest to my friends. I’m sure they will be benefited from this web site.

  8. Elliott says:

    Have you ever thought about publishing an e-book or guest
    authoring on other sites? I have a blog based upon on
    the same ideas you discuss and would really like to have you share
    some stories/information. I know my visitors would value
    your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an email.

  9. Hi there, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar
    one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam responses?

    If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can recommend?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any help is very much appreciated.

  10. I simply couldn’t depart your site prior to suggesting that I actually loved the standard info a person supply to your visitors? Is going to be back regularly in order to investigate cross-check new posts

  11. I think the admin of this web site is truly working hard in favor of his website, for the reason that here every data is quality based stuff.

  12. I simply could not depart your site prior to suggesting that
    I really enjoyed the usual information an individual provide in
    your visitors? Is gonna be again steadily in order to check up on new posts

  13. green coffee says:

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice,
    keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back down the road. Cheers

  14. We’re a gaggle of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your website provided us with useful information to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our entire group will be thankful to you.

  15. That is really fascinating, You are an overly skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks

  16. Maurine says:

    Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude!
    Thank you, However I am going through difficulties with your RSS.
    I don’t understand why I am unable to join it. Is there anybody else having similar RSS issues? Anyone that knows the solution will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  17. I love reading through a post that can make people think.
    Also, many thanks for allowing me to comment!

  18. Taylor says:

    This post gives clear idea for the new viewers of blogging, that actually how to do running
    a blog.

  19. This is a great tip especially to those new to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very accurate info… Thanks for
    sharing this one. A must read article!

  20. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appearance. I must say you have done a excellent job with this. Additionally, the blog loads very fast for me on Internet explorer. Excellent Blog!

  21. garcinia says:

    Hey there! I know this is kind of off-topic however I had to ask.
    Does building a well-established blog such as yours take a
    massive amount work? I am completely new to blogging but I do write in my diary everyday.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

  22. Angelia says:

    whoah this blog is fantastic i like studying your posts.

    Keep up the good work! You already know, a lot of individuals are hunting
    round for this info, you can aid them greatly.

  23. Shane says:

    You made some really good points there. I checked on the web to
    find out more about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this site.

  24. Clifford says:

    I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as
    with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?

    Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a
    nice blog like this one these days.

  25. Micheal says:

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really
    nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back down the road. All the best

  26. Eusebia says:

    This is my first time pay a visit at here and i am genuinely pleassant to read all at single place.

  27. Luke says:

    It’s truly a nice and helpful piece of info. I’m satisfied that
    you simply shared this helpful information with us.
    Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  28. Justine says:

    Simply wish to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clearness to your put up is simply great and i could assume you are an expert in this
    subject. Well along with your permission allow me to seize your RSS feed to
    stay updated with coming near near post. Thanks
    a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

  29. Winifred says:

    I was recommended this website by my cousin.
    I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed
    about my problem. You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  30. I have read so many articles or reviews on the topic of the blogger lovers except this post is really a
    pleasant piece of writing, keep it up.

  31. Rafaela says:

    Good article! We will be linking to this particularly great content on our site.

    Keep up the good writing.

  32. Brian says:

    Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not
    writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  33. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful information specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  34. Nue Trim says:

    Wow, marvelous blog structure! How long have you ever
    been running a blog for? you made blogging look easy.
    The overall look of your web site is great, let alone the content!

  35. Hi my family member! I wish to say that this post is amazing, great written and come with approximately all important infos.

    I would like to look more posts like this .

  36. vouchers says:

    I’m pretty pleased to find this page. I want to to thank you for
    ones time due to this fantastic read!! I definitely enjoyed
    every bit of it and I have you bookmarked to look at new things on your website.

  37. Great post here. One thing I would really like to
    say is always that most professional career fields consider the Bachelor’s Degree as the
    entry level standard for an online education.

    Although Associate Degrees are a great way to get started on, completing the Bachelors uncovers many entrance doors to various professions,
    there are numerous on-line Bachelor Diploma Programs available via institutions like The University of Phoenix,
    Intercontinental University Online and Kaplan. Another concern
    is that many brick and mortar institutions present Online editions of their college diplomas but generally for a significantly higher price than the
    firms that specialize in online education programs.

  38. Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers and starting a new iitiative in
    a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneticial information to work on.
    You have done a extraordinary job!

  39. Bryan says:

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your site.
    You have some really good articles and I think I
    would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back
    to mine. Please blast me an email if interested.
    Cheers!

  40. This is the right webpage for anyone who
    would like to understand this topic. You realize
    a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally will need to…HaHa).
    You definitely put a fresh spin on a subject that’s been discussed for many years.
    Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

  41. Magnificent items frkm you, man. I’ve take note your
    stuff prior to aand you are judt too fantastic.

    I really like what yyou have obtained right here, certainly like what you are stating and tthe wayy
    during which you are saying it. You are making it enjoyable and yoou still take care of to stay it sensible.
    I can’t wait to learn much more ffom you. This is really a great web site.

  42. Hi there very nice website!! Guy .. Excellent .. Superb ..
    I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds also?
    I am satisfied to find numerous useful info right here
    in the submit, we’d like work out more strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing.
    . . . . .

  43. Gavin says:

    Hi friends, how is all, and what you would like to say regarding this paragraph, in my view its actually amazing
    for me.

  44. Jurgen says:

    Hello colleagues, its impressive article on the topic
    of educationand completely explained, keep it up all the time.

Leave a comment